Some selfish sewing- Pattern stash, superheroes and such.

I think I’m ready to tip-toe into the land of dressmaking again. In 2013, when I got my sewing machine, I was so AMBITIOUS about the things I wanted to make, he he. I was in such a hurry too, to see if I could actually make anything or finally admit to myself that sewing just wasn’t for me. The very first dress I made was out of these Avengers bed covers I had (comic books and superheroes – another childhood passion I just haven’t managed to get rid of.)

I McGyvered the sh*t out of this dress. No pattern, one leg in a cast after a brutal car accident.

I McGyvered the sh*t out of this dress. No pattern, with one leg in a cast after a brutal car accident.

Iron Man gets to be the centrepiece because he is my favourite superhero, him and Batman 😉 I guess I’ll explain why. These two do not have any superhuman powers (except for being super geniuses maybe, which would then qualify a big chunk of the human population, starting with Stephen Hawkins, of course), they are the Kings of “Do-It-Yourself”. Random thought; how many prototypes for his suit did Iron Man have to make before he got it just right? And how many times did he fall on his super hero butt before it worked right? Many, many times! And that’s the spirit I love. Batman went through a similar creative process when coming up with his thing. No fancy bug bites, Semi God parent and what not.

I hope Kakazi likes comic books because I'm already collecting. These are from 1990 - 1995.

I hope Kakazi likes comic books because I’m already collecting. These are from 1990 – 1995.

After the trouble I went through to make the first dress, I knew I had to get some patterns, atleast for the learning period. I started off with a simple one that did not require zippers.

DSCN3794

I went with just the top option in an effort to practice slowing down 😀

Putting together the top was not too bad but the sizing was not so good.

Putting together the top was not too bad but the sizing was not so good.

Then I moved on to another dress after enjoying the success of finishing the top. I wore the top out a few times and got complimented quite abit 😉 , which was motivating. I chose this very easy Vogue option.

DSCN3817

vogue Patterns – V8723

I used an African Print fabric I bought on line from Vlisco.

I made this on to try inserting a zip the right way.

I made this on to try inserting a zip the right way.

The back.

The back.

Once I was happy with my results, I went a bit crazy with planning what patterns to buy.

Was I nuts or what? This my goal for 4 months!

Was I nuts or what? This my goal for 4 months!

I realised that was crazy so I decided to get organised and buy patterns based on what I wanted to learn.

DSCN3797

I live this simple style and the little jacket seemed like a nice bonus.

DSCN3803

I just love how many options there are on this pattern. I think I shall make every single last one 🙂

DSCN3805

I mean, just how cute are these?

I really fell inlove with Cynthia Rowley’s collection for Simplicity that year. If I’d had the money, I would have bought them all.

DSCN3806

This one seemed like a nice challenge for the future. Still does.

DSCN3811

I also wanted to try collar dress.

DSCN3819

I got this one to practice proper garment construction. I also bought a course on Craftsy called “The Couture Dress” by Susan Khalje, that uses this dress for the course.

DSCN3821

To try knit fabrics. Also love how many options there are.

DSCN3822

Another supposedly very easy option, I will let you know once I try.

DSCN3824

I like the sharp cut of this one and the twistie chest detail.

DSCN3825

And of course a vintage one! I’m dying to give the black one a go once I’ve built up a bit of confidence again.

I also got into drawing because I thought It would be a practical skill to have for this sort of thing and took inspiration from everywhere.

Inspiration - Miranda Kerr's style for the first image..she wears dresses beautifully. The lime green version - Dolce and Gabana. The pink collared - Valentino

Inspiration: Left – Miranda Kerr’s style for the first image..she wears dresses beautifully. Center – Louis Vuitton. Right  – Valentino.

00020m1

Louis Vuitton -Fall 2010

Valentino 2013 Fall collection

Valentino 2013 Fall collection

Some more sketches.

DSCN3833 DSCN3832

I guess the plan remains the same. Pick something I want to learn, pick a dress to make and that’s it. You’ll find that the majority of these patterns are somewhat related to all the dresses I’ve pinned on my  “My Style” board on Pinterest. Here is to hoping I actually find time to make!

Leave a Reply

