Around the world, around the wooorrllllddd…Nautical quilt

DSCN3071

I woke up feeling inspired by the fabrics we picked up yesterday. This should be fun. I’ll start just as soon as I finish my unexpectedly garlicky potato salad..hmmm. I am also slowly getting on with the quiet book but have decided I will probably do a big reveal once I’m done.

DSCN2892

Assembly. The main thing I wanted to figure out was the ship. The end result should look very different.

The fabrics. Latkyprovas.cz

The fabrics. Latkyprovas.cz

DSCN2869

My favourite fabric on the blanket.

df6d8dea82635f7be6690cab3a7efcc2

I got the design off this beautiful quilt on Pinterest.

And sort of combined it with this tutorial from MessyJesse.

SONY DSC

So here we go.

I took my two contrasting fabrics, pinned them pretty sides together and sewed all around with a 1/5 inch seam allowance.

I took my two contrasting fabrics, pinned them pretty sides together and sewed all around with a 1/5 inch seam allowance.

If one fabric is smaller, use the larger fabric for the seam allowance guide.

Here is how you make the smaller contrasting squares for the ship.

Fold the square diagonally to get an accurate estimate of you cutting line.

If you are nervous, you can also go ahead and draw across the fold line.

If you are nervous, you can also go ahead and draw across the fold line.

Fold the triangles in half and cut to make your squares.

I then folded the triangles in half and cut to make the squares.

And you have your contrasting squares.

Contrasting squares.

I cut out 12 small squares from 3 large ones, each with one light fabrics and one dark fabric.

I ironed my small squares and clipped. Ready to assemble.

I ironed my small squares and clipped. Ready to assemble.

Excuse the night time lighting 🙂

I ran out of small navy squares but I like that both ships have a slightly different look.

I ran out of small navy squares but I like that both ships have a slightly different look.

DSCN2994

It took a while to decide on how the pieces were going to lay but I think I’m happy with the way it turned out.

DSCN2997 DSCN2995

Complete with batting, and top stitch to hold all the layers together and a red back.

Complete with batting, and top stitch to hold all the layers together and a red back.

None of the blue fabrics I have complimented the quilt so I went with the next best thing, red. I think I can live with it :)

None of the blue fabrics I have complimented the quilt so I went with the next best thing, red. I think I can live with it 🙂

I used red contrast thread just to sort of bring in the very red back of the quilt.

I used red contrast thread just to sort of bring in the very red back of the quilt.

Leave a Reply

