More baby blocks – experimenting with sounds and textures

The quiet book I’m making for Milan is going to take a while, so to break the monotony, I made a couple of baby blocks to play around with materials I have around the house to create a bunch that make different sounds and felt different to touch.

Soft Baby blocks

Soft Baby blocks

The last block I posted, I used baby wipe bags for sound but they didn’t really make any distinctive noise.

Stuffed with normal stuffing plus baby wipe bags for a noise effect. I also read somewhere that they hold up well in the wash.

Stuffed with normal stuffing plus baby wipe bags for a noise effect. I also read somewhere that they hold up well in the wash.

So in today’s blocks, I used Oreo wrappers, a little bell I took out of an older toy, I even tried to stuff an entire rattle in there (a small one but still 🙂 )

These sound much better.

These sound much better.

The rattle that nearly died in the line of duty.

The rattle that nearly died in the line of duty.

I knew it was a bad idea as soon as I took the picture. So I laughed and took it out.

Texture

Texture

For texture, I used the same towel fabric I used for the bibs, the minky fabric, the stripped fabric is an up cycle from older pants.

I finished them by hand using the ladder stitch

I finished them by hand using the ladder stitch

That’s it for now. Keep on sewing!

Leave a Reply

