For my drool monster – easy ribbon bibs

Ribbon strap bibs

Ribbon strap bibs

So the drool situation with Kakazi is getting out of control!!!! I hated dealing with a diaper rash that one time she got one at about 8 weeks, so yeah..we are not going there again. Plus I can never find a bib when I really need one. These are fun to make and a good way to use up scrap fabrics and ribbons you might have around. I think these are to adorable.

For the back, I used the vibrantly coloured and surprisingly cheap Haren towels from Ikea:

They are nice and fluffy and very absorbent.

The back

The back

Inspiration. We run out of bibs..again, on a recent visit to Babi's and we had to improvise with these old hankies.

Inspiration. We run out of bibs..again, on a recent visit to Babi’s and we had to improvise with these old hankies.

The pattern, I drafted myself and I like how these aren’t bulky at all.

Cut both fabrics on fold, pinned together to make for exact matching pieces

Cut both fabrics on fold, pinned together to make for exact matching pieces

1 piece of cotton fabric for front and towel for back cut out for 3 bibs

1 piece of cotton fabric for front and towel for back cut out for 3 bibs

DSCN1889

Pretty sides together

Pretty sides together

Pinning. I cut the straps a little longer to allow for adjustments.

Pinning. I cut the straps a little longer to allow for adjustments.

Clipping

Clipping

More clipping

More clipping

Sewn, ironed and turned inside out, opening hand stitched close with a ladder stitch

Sewn, ironed and turned inside out, opening hand stitched close with a ladder stitch

Finito!

Finito!

2 thoughts on “For my drool monster – easy ribbon bibs

Leave a Reply

