Of minkys, ballet ribbons and Baby blocks

DSCN1735

ballet ribbon, minky baby block

The bum :)

The bum 🙂

Hello.Long time! It has been a busy week, lots of people to catch up with, things to do and the weather got so nice we simply had to be out. I’ve been feeling guilty about not making anything and I definitely did not want the week to end with nothing to show for it. So this morning, Kakazi’s dad came to pick her up, I quickly went to the sewing table and whipped up this sweetheart in no time. I have been meaning to make baby blocks for two reasons.

  • Kakazi loves ribbons and tags, blankets that have things hanging of the sides and I love watching her fascination with different textures and I have some ribbons I’ve been meaning to use.
  • I found a new fabric – the minky, which totally intimidated me, so before I started cutting big pieces for blankets, I thought the blocks would be a more sensible way to try sewing this fabric for the very first time. I got the idea for the block from my friend Jennifer, she’d made a bunch of cute ones for her son so I figured I’d give it a go.
Stuffed with normal stuffing plus baby wipe bags for a noise effect. I also read somewhere that they hold up well in the wash.

Stuffed with normal stuffing plus baby wipe bags for a noise effect. I also read somewhere that they hold up well in the wash.

Punked it up a little, we dont want to go too girly :) just kidding. Love the ribbons.

Punked it up a little, we dont want to go too girly 🙂 just kidding. Love the ribbons.

The lady at the fabric store that I bought minkys kept giggling to herself at all the little happy noises I was making as I came across prettier and prettier fabrics, she struck up a casual conversation about what I was going to do with the fabrics and when I went to pay, she gave me the cutest ballet ribbon as a gift for Kakazi. I was besides myself because that kind of customer service here is rare 🙂 We’ll talk about that another time.

Back to the minky, I have been looking every where for this fabric and they just dont have it anywhere. Imagine my excitement when I saw one of my friends, Jennifer, had sewn taggies for her son and some friends and she’d used the minky. I was excited and hopeful atmost but I knew the answer almost before I asked her where she’d found her fabric. “From the States,” she says. I knew it. Anyway, as luck would have it, she recently went to a design market somewhere in the city and there were blankets and quilts on sale that were made using the minky. So of course she asked where the got it and she got me a card 😀 Thanks Jenn! Its an online store http://www.latkyprovas.cz/ but I saw somewhere on the page that they’ve got a little “warehouse” you can go if you wanted to pick up your fabrics yourself. So I packed my baby the very next day and headed off after checking out the map and was confident I could find my way. I also had the number to the store just incase…this is not a part of town I frequent. I got there and the store was locked, I called the lady and she said I could come back the next day and she’d be there 😦 Arrgghhh..Anyway, I did just that and it was well worth it. I cant wait to show what I make from all the ones I got. I’ve got no pictures because they are in the washing machine now so atleast we have something to look forward to, eh? 😀

Peace!

Leave a Reply

