And Waffi the giraffe he shall be.

Face

Face

Yes, yes, yes, yes! I’ve got it. A Giraffe! That’s what I’m making next. I mean, who doesn’t love a giraffe, they are so out of place in our time, like little forgotten dinosaurs that refused to go out with the rest of them when their time came, and you know, sort of just giraffed their way into the next age 😀 They are so silly, I love them. Have you ever seen two giraffes fighting? Or attempt coitus? 😀 Hilarious! And a little sad…

Zuo7l9u[1]Giraffes are worse at sex than you are - Imgur

Waffi, however is going to be an innocent happy happy giraffe.These are the fabrics I’m thinking of using but who knows, if you know me, you also know how all over the place I can get when I’m excited.

Planned fabrics for Waffi the giraffe

Planned fabrics for Waffi the giraffe

Kakazi’s grandma is so impressed with how we are carrying on, she has just gone full on supportive 🙂 She gave me a gorgeous collection of buttons (that’s where I got the wooden ones I used on both Tasha & Kiki – I plan to do a separate post on buttons) and scrap fabrics that she has been collecting over the years with her own mother, who is just as supportive. You can tell she takes pride in taking care of things and you should just see the cloth diapers she gave me before Kakazi was born. You would not believe they were from over 20 years ago, not a single stain. Also she bakes the loveliest treats, just ask my friends. Anyway, she has promised to come over Thursday to help out with Kakazi and give me a little time to sew. I’m so grateful for her!

I’m giving my self a week or so to start and complete this project because I’m also still working on Tasha and I realise this is a little ambitious but I just think posting this will keep me motivated to remain on track. Thanks for stopping by.

Update

Thursday – Grandma – can we call her Babi? I like saying Babi, anyway, she came as promised but I lost the plot when a dear old friend, Pamela came to visit from Sweden. She is one of the very first friends I made when I arrived in Czech republic. Her big sister Liz  bought me my very first tram ticket and KFC 😀 Pamela came by around lunch time and when Kakazi went down for her nap, we left her in the loving care of her Babi and snuck off for a quick beer and a much needed catch up. I talked her into staying the night and l guess you can see where I’m going with this 😛 Waffi did not happen. Pam left this morning and as soon as I put Kakazi down, I got drafting. There was almost no process with this as you can see from the retarded first sketch 🙂

Idea

Idea

Still not completely happy with the shape of the body, I will keep adjusting

Still not completely happy with the shape of the body, I will keep adjusting

P.s: I have already changed my mind about fabrics, Waffi is a boy (just to keep things balanced) and the fabric I picked feels a little feminine. That is why I like to let ideas marinate for a while in my head.

Pamela brought me a little taste of home so I’m off to make a nice big old cup of Ugandan tea.

Chai garden tea

Chai garden tea

Leave a Reply

