Humble beginnings – hand stitching and first attempts at plush animals

Mama loves her some color

Mama loves her some color

Al right, we are doing this! So I have been driving myself crazy with ideas for my first post, I’ve spent nearly 2 days thinking of nothing else when I wasn’t occupied with Kakazi. Someone I respect alot – my old boss Terri, (she is not actually old, she just is no longer my boss) taught me to handle these situations well. Sometimes when I had to present a new idea or strategy to her, I would lose my self in my ideas and start to talk really fast, I guess my mouth is just trying to keep up with my brain when that happens 🙂 . Anyway, she’d tell me to just take a breath and just start from the very beginning, so I will do just that.

I finally took my sewing machine out of hibernation after nearly 3 years about two months ago. I’m feeling confident with my abilities as a mother, so I figured it was time. Before I put the machine away, I had taught myself to sew well enough to make my self some pretty decent dresses because I reeeally got into it. I watched all the tutorials anyone could possibly watch on youtube and followed along until I didn’t really need to. This time round I found I’ve forgotten a lot of the stuff I’d learned and curves are still kicking my little African butt! I figured I’ll just take things really slow and just start with the basics…again. And this time I’ve promised myself I WILL learn to be patient. Most of the mistakes I make while sewing could very easily be avoided if I could just slow the eff up. I’m in such a hurry to see the finished product, I have no one and nothing else to blame but myself. Working on that 🙂

And then I started off with these little felt plush toys inspired by a bunch I saw on pinterest.

Blushing felt whale

Blushing felt whale

They looked simple enough, I needed projects I could possibly maybe draft out my self. There is a printer somewhere in the living room but Lord knows where the cables are. I’ve been trying to sort out my apartment for over two years but thats not the point. I don’t know where the cables are so I wasn’t going to be able to print off all those deliciously alluring free patterns all over the web. I started off drawing this simple little whale. I mostly wanted to practice hand stitching and I’d never tried the blanket stitch so I found a tutorial and it only took a couple of minutes to figure it out. It was lots of fun but it takes a looooooong time, like I mean the whole day for such a tiny thing.

Note to self: Do NOT glue on felt bits on to toys if kids are going to play with them. You’d think that would have been obvious but I guess those are the kind of mistakes that need to happen for you to learn once and for all. I would not want something I made so lovingly to hurt anyone and the eye and pink cheek I glued on nearly did, when my friend’s baby Milan stuck it in his mouth – yeah, they came off, we caught them on time though…before you start throwing internet stones 🙂

I’m still playing around with what Kakazi’s play/reading corner and I was inspired by a bunch of fabric clouds on..you guessed it 😀 pinterest so I decided that would be an easy one to try. I used two different size bowls and I think a glass for the smallest curve, and sort of just eye-balled it around this axis I folded on a plain piece of paper.

grey felt cloud with lightening

grey felt cloud with lightening

The pattern

The pattern

Leave a Reply

